Isle of Man News - POSTED Thu 04-05-2017

Three nominations received for Legislative Council

by LC

Three nominations have been received to fill one vacancy on the Legislative Council. The nominees and their seconders are as follows:

Mrs Jane Poole-Wilson
Date nomination received – 5th April 2017
Nominated by - Mrs Daphne Caine MHK
Seconder - Mr Bill Shimmins MHK
Supporters - Hon Howard Quayle MHK and Mr Martyn Perkins MHK

Mr Paul Beckett
Date nomination received – 12th April 2017
Nominated by – Hon Kate Beecroft MHK
Seconded by – Mr Lawrie Hooper MHK
Supported by – Ms Julie Edge MHK and Mr Jason Moorhouse MHK

Mr Alan Wright
Date nomination received – 25th April 2017
Nominated by – Hon Geoffrey Boot MHK
Seconded by – Hon Ray Harmer MHK
Supported by – Mr Tim Baker MHK and Hon Graham Cregeen MHK

Further information about the candidates can be viewed here.

An election sitting of the House of Keys will take place at 2:30pm on Thursday 18th May. This is the first election to be run under the new system adopted by the Keys on 4th April 2017. The amended House of Keys Standings Orders, which incorporates a guidance note on Elections to the Legislative Council by the Speaker, can be viewed here.

Further information about the vacancy and the election process can be found here.

Members of the public are welcome to attend. The sitting can also be heard via the “live and listen again” audio webcast service on the Tynwald website.

Bringing You Isle of Man News and Sports Items

Send your press releases to:
Got a news story:
For MTTV news: contact Paul Moulton on 310000 or email